Women's Justice Taskforce

Reforming Women's Justice: Final report of the Women's Justice Taskforce

The Women's Justice Taskforce published their final report and recommendations in June 2011. For a copy of the report please click here.

The Prison Reform Trust, supported by the Bromley Trust, established a time-limited, high level, independent Women’s Justice Taskforce, to make sure that vulnerable women in the criminal justice system are a priority for government, and to map out the means by which Ministers, officials and local government can build on the Corston blueprint for reform in changed economic and political times. 

No one can be satisfied by the continued high and damaging use of custody for women, comparatively few of whom have committed serious or violent offences.

Despite the policy changes prompted by the Prison Reform Trust’s independent review of women’s imprisonment, chaired by Professor Dorothy Wedderburn, the impetus provided by the Fawcett Commission, and the considerable impact of the government-commissioned wide-ranging review chaired by Jean Corston, it is still all too easy for vulnerable women - 5% of the prison population and approximately 1/3 of those on probation - to slide off the political agenda and return to being a neglected minority. 

The Taskforce is chaired by Fiona Cannon OBE, Diversity and Inclusion Director, Lloyds Banking Group

Its members include:

Antonia Bance: Corston Independent Funders Coalition 
Lisa Buckingham OBE: Editor, Financial Mail on Sunday
Angus Cameron: Mental Health Advisor, London Probation Trust
Wendy Cranmer: Resettlement worker Toynbee Hall and former prisoner
Mitch Egan CB: Former Director of Offender Management North East
Lady Fiona Hodgson: Vice-chair, Conservative National Convention, and Past Chair, Conservative Women’s Association 
Olga Heaven MBE: Director, Hibiscus
Clare Jones: Chair, Women's Breakout and Joint Chief Executive, WomenCentre, Calderdale & Kirklees
Stephen Otter QPM: Chief Constable Devon and Cornwall and ACPO lead on EDHR 
Malcolm Richardson JP: Incoming Deputy Chairman of the Magistrates’ Association
Neil Sherlock: Partner, Public and Regulatory Affairs, KPMG