Originally formed in 1980, the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Penal Affairs aims to increase its members' knowledge of penal affairs and to work through parliamentary channels for reform of the penal system.

At the Annual General Meeting on 11 July 2017, Rt Hon Dominic Grieve QC MP and Lord Ramsbotham were re-elected as co-chairs of the group. The AGM also saw the re-election of three vice chairs: Sarah Champion MP; Kate Green MP; and Rt Hon Norman Lamb MP; and the election of a fourth vice chair Andrew Selous MP. Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts was re-elected as the group’s secretary. The group is listed in the Register of All-Party Groups.

The Prison Reform Trust’s head of policy and communications, Mark Day, is clerk to the group.

The Barrow Cadbury Trust kindly supports the Prison Reform Trust to provide the Secretariat to the group.

The group meets regularly and hears presentations from a wide range of people and organisations. Full minutes of meetings are published on the Prison Reform Trust website.